I can’t not

I had a colleague once who graduated from MICA. Her final project at school, which I saw well after the fact and only online, was sheer brilliance. The subject matter made me feel slightly uncomfortable but it was bloody brilliant nevertheless. When I knew her she was working at jobs well below her level of expertise and creativity – as so many of us are in this 21st century economic crisis – and trying to make money from her passion.

One day I asked her why she made art. Clearly it wasn’t for financial reasons; in fact, it probably was costing her money. She wasn’t famous (yet). She was young and could find 15,000 other things to do with her time! So, why?

Her response was so rapid and so clear it felt rehearsed. But of course it wasn’t. It was heartfelt and simple.

‘I can’t not.’

Leave a Reply

